top of page

IDS Seminar Applied Project


For my Interdisciplinary Studies Senior Seminar and Applied Project, I have created a podcast series all about my travel experiences from the past 5 years. The journey of this project has been something that I didn't think I would enjoy as much as I have. Having the chance to document my travel and share my tips with the world has been extremely fulfilling and something that I have wanted to do for a long time.

I started with a list of ideas of things that I would like to talk about in my podcast series. You can see my initial brainstorm for the podcast series here.

The series, titled "Around the World in 30 Minutes", begins with an introductory episode where I talk about my time here at Plymouth State, my overall experience with extensive travel, and how it all wraps into my major and my journey through interdisciplinary studies. I recorded some of the episodes with friends who I have traveled with or who have related experiences. After brainstorming and then planning and recording, below is my final episode list and a small description.

00 - Introduction: In this episode I discuss my travel experiences and how they have influenced the development of my degree and career path.

01 - Wanderlust Scaries and Excitement: This episode was about debunking some of the myths that people use as excuses for not traveling. Things like expensive flights, dangerous locations, the rise of terrorism around the world, and language barriers.

02 - Solo Travel as a Young Woman (With Gerty!): Many people have asked me "aren't you scared when you travel alone?", and the simple answer is, no. In this episode, myself and my best friend Gerty, talk about stories from traveling as a solo woman and how to avoid trouble. This episode showcases Gerty's solo gap year through Europe after she graduated from high school in 2015.

03 - Backpacking Europe on a Budget (With Sarah!): In August 2017, my roommate and I went on a 2 week backpacking trip through 6 different countries in Europe. In this episode, we talk about the details of planning and executing this once in a lifetime trip.

04 - Finding the Foreign in Domestic Travel (With Ayla!): The United States is such a diverse country in its regions and states. You don't have to go very far to discover something new!

05 - Traveling and Technology (With Gerty!): In today's day and age, it is easy to get wrapped up in technology and it can sometimes hinder the experience you have while traveling. In this episode, we talk about how to use your phone wisely, or how to get around with no phone at all.

06 - Eating and Staying Healthy Abroad (With Sarah!): It is important to stay healthy while traveling. In this episode, we talk about food allergies, sickness while abroad, hydration, and more.

I plan to continue to record podcast episodes in the future, and truly enjoyed the entirety of the process.

You can listen to my entire podcast series at this link.


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page