top of page

Life Update: I'm moving to Spain!

As the school year comes close to an end, I knew that I had to make a decision for life after college. I spent last summer as an au pair in Girona, Spain, and I had the time of my life. And, I know that sounds cliche, but I had never been happier or healthier in my entire life. I knew that somehow I needed to get back to Spain.

I started researching how I could go to Spain, in the cheapest and easiest way. Spain is one of the most difficult countries in the EU to hold a visa for, so I quickly learned that the easiest way to move there would be with a student visa. Here are the year long teaching programs I applied to and their pros and cons:

Auxiliares de Conversación - This program is through the Ministry of Education, where Americans and Canadians apply to be conversation assistants in local schools in one of the comunidades in Spain. Pros: you receive health care, a student visa, and a stipend of between 700-1000 euros per month. Cons: because this program is through the Spanish Government, things are a bit slow. The process is slow, the application website is out of date and hard to navigate, and you are completely on your own in getting to Spain in the fall. Despite these cons, I have still heard of many success stories through this program.

CAPS - CAPS stands for Conversation Assistant Programme for Schools, and is an extension of Home to Home, a language and cultural exchange program. CAPS is essentially the same as the Auxiliares de Conversación, except with more hours, and a host family component. Pros: you receive a student visa, health insurance, and a monthly stipend. You also get to take courses at a local university in order to get a TESOL certificate. Because you are in a homestay, you will get three meals per day, free housing, and can pocket the 315-465 euros to travel or pay off student loans. If you meet certain credentials, you can live independently and receive 915 euros per month. Cons: If you are placed in the homestay program, you loose a bit of freedom in what you can do. There is also a 150 euro placement fee, so if you are accepted to the program and decide to go, you must pay a 150 euro fee in order to secure your spot (although you will get it back in the end if you finish the program.

Teach and Learn in Spain at Instituto Franklin - This program is based out of the Universidad de Alcalá in Alcalá de Henares, Madrid. Essentially, it entails most of the same aspects of the Auxiliares program, except you get a masters degree in your chosen field (basically for free!). Pros: The masters degree that is one year intensive, health insurance, student visa, monthly stipend. Cons: the application fee is 100 euros non-refundable, other than that, I can't think of more cons.

I have chosen to attend the Instituto Franklin to get my Masters in International Education. I am so excited for this (and a bit nervous) but I know that this is the right choice for me!


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page